Science Themes

ST-4: CIRCULATION, CLIMATE VARIABILITY AND CHANGE

The general circulation of the Indian Ocean is the least understood of all of the open ocean basins. This is due to the fact that the Indian Ocean surface and deep currents are more complex and variable compared to the other ocean basins. The monsoon winds drive the seasonally reversing surface currents of the northern part of the Indian Ocean. The southern part of the basin, south of 10°S to the Subtropical Convergence, is centered on the zone of subtropical high atmospheric pressure, which forms a continuous belt around the globe during the Southern Hemisphere winter. The global thermohaline circulation includes the transport of warm, relatively fresh upper-ocean waters from the Pacific through the Indonesian Seas to the Indian Ocean. Climatic phenomena such as the East Asian monsoon, the Indian Ocean Dipole (IOD) and the El Niño-Southern Oscillation (ENSO) exert a strong influence on the transport, water properties and vertical stratification of the Indonesian Throughflow (ITF).

The IIOE-2 Science Plan has identified three core questions of relevance to the Indian Ocean circulation and climate variability that call for the attention of the IIOE-2 scientific community:

  1. How has the atmospheric and ocean circulation of the Indian Ocean changed in the past and how will it change in the future?
  2. How do these changes relate to topography and connectivity with the Pacific, Atlantic and Southern oceans?
  3. What impact does this have on biological productivity, carbon cycling and fisheries?

The ST-4 is coordinated by a Committee co-chaired by Dr. Jerome Vialard (Jerome.vialard@ird.fr)at the Institut de Recherche pour le Developpement (IRD), Paris, and Dr. Amit Tandon (atandon@umassd.edu), Professor at the University of Massachusetts Dartmouth. The composition of the Committee is:

Search Term

Name Nationality Affiliation
Dr. Jerome Vialard
CO-CHAIR
France Institut de Recherche pour le Developpement (IRD), Paris.
Email: Jerome.vialard@ird.fr
Dr. Amit Tandon
CO-CHAIR
USA University of Massachusetts Dartmouth.
Email: atandon@umassd.edu
Dr. Ming Feng Australia CSIRO, WA 6010, Australia
Email: ming.feng@csiro.au
Dr. Helen Elizabeth Phillips Australia Institute for Marine and Antarctic Studies (IMAS), University of Tasmania.
Email: h.e.phillips@utas.edu.au
Prof. Yue Fang China First Institute of Oceanography, State Oceanic Administration, Qingdao, China.
Email: yfang@fio.org.cn
Dr. Tarek Mohamed Ahmed El-Geziry Egypt National Institute of Oceanography & Fisheries (NIOF), Alexandria, Egypt.
Email: tarekelgeziry@yahoo.com
Dr. B. Praveen Kumar India INCOIS, Hyderabad, India.
Email: praveen.b@incois.gov.in
Dr. Iskhaq Iskandar Indonesia University of Sriwijaya, Sumatra Selatan, Indonesia.
Email: iskhaq@mipa.unsri.ac.id
Dr. Motoki Nagura Japan JAMSTEC, Kanagawa, Japan
Email: nagura@jamstec.go.jp
Mr. Balla P. Magero Kenya Kenya Meteorological Department, Kenya.
Email: sagaaf04@gmail.com
Dr. Emily Shroyer USA Oregon State University, USA.
Email: eshroyer@coas.oregonstate.edu